International Year of Older Persons


Emblem of the International Year of Older PersonsThe General Assembly (Resolution 47/5 of 16 October 1992) decided to observe the year 1999 as the International Year of Older Persons (IYOP). The Year was celebrated by all sectors of society, in all corners of the globe.


The underlying framework for the International Year of Older Persons was the International Plan of Action on Aging, the first major international instrument on aging which was endorsed by the General Assembly in 1982 (following the World Assembly on Aging of that year). The subsequent UN Principles for Older Persons, adopted by the UN General Assembly on 16 December 1991 (resolution 46/91) may be divided into five different clusters of relevant issues: independence, participation, care, self-fulfilment and dignity. Working within that framework, the focus of this year had been developed into four themes: the situation of older persons, individual lifelong development, relationships between the generations and, finally, the interrelationship of population aging and development.


The theme of the International Year Towards a Society for All Ages elicits the full engagement of all segments of society. It called for "solidarity", "respect" and "exchanges" between generations. It called for opportunities to share between the young and the not so young such that each may learn from the other. If the objectives of the Year are to be realized it requires the involvement of the whole population in order to create a strong partnership between all ages.


A wide range of activities occurred during the international year: from serious academic and policy development conferences to artistic festivals to small community and neighbourhood gatherings. Many were local in nature and open to anyone.





The official IYOP website from the United Nations.

All the International Years proclaimed by the General Assembly.



Stamp catalogue


Austria                             17 September 1999

Bangladesh                       1 October 1999

Netherlands                      13 April 1999

Slovakia                           15 June 1999









Up - Home



last revised: 27 April 2008