International Year of the Child


Emblem of the International Year of the ChildThe United Nations declared 1979 as the International Year of the Child to celebrate the twentieth anniversary of the Declaration of the Rights of the Child and to encourage its application. The objectives of this year, as outlined in the United Nations General Assembly Resolution of 21 December 1976, were as follows :


(a) To provide a framework for advocacy on behalf of children and for enhancing the awareness of the special needs of children on the part of decision-makers and the public.

(b) To promote recognition of the fact that programmes for children should be an integral part of economic and social development plans with a view to achieving, in both the long-term and the short-term, sustained Lithograph by Graciela Rodo Boulangeractivities for the benefit of children at the national/international levels.


All over the world special activities were organised and all kinds of memorabilia were produced. One is this lithograph by Graciela Rodo Boulanger.


On 5 October 1979 at the UN Office in Geneva, the permanent mission of the Popular Republic of Poland communicated a project relative to the rights of the child to the Human Rights Commission work group. This initiative led to the Convention on the Rights of the Child adopted by the General Assembly on 20 November 1989.





President Jimmy Carter established a National Commission on the International Year of the Child.

Article on the first Disney stamps issued for the International Year of the Child.

All the International Years proclaimed by the General Assembly.



Related subject


Convention on the Rights of the Child



Related person


Beatrix, queen of the Netherlands





New Zealand - stamp International Year of the ChildAitutaki                                                             1 October 1979

Austria                                                              16 January 1979

Bangladesh                                                        17 December 1979

Belgium                                                             8 December 1979

Benin                                                                20 February 1979

Bophuthatswana                                                 7 June 1979

Christmas Island                                                 20 April 1979

Faroe Islands                                                     1 October 1979

German Democratic Republic                              22 May 1979

Jersey                                                               13 August 1979

Liechtenstein                                                      8 March 1979

Netherlands                                                       13 November 1979

Netherlands Antilles                                            24 October 1979

Niger                                                                 10 April 1979

Papua New Guinea                                             24 October 1979

Pitcairn Islands                                                   28 November 1979

Solomon Islands                                                 15 November 1979

Suriname                                                           3 October 1979

Tunisia                                                              16 October 1979

Union of Soviet Socialist Republics                        1 June 1979

Union of Soviet Socialist Republics                        7 September 1979









Up - Home



UNOstamps subject page 048

last revised: 26 August 2010