Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific


Emblem of ESCAPEstablished in 1947 in Shanghai, China, as the Economic Commission for Asia and the Far East (ECAFE) to assist in post-war economic reconstruction, the United Nations Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific moved its headquarters to Bangkok in January 1949.  UNESCAP has 53 members and 9 associate members.


The name was changed in 1974 to reflect both the economic and social aspects of development and the geographic location of its member countries. UNESCAP's mandate was broadened in 1977 by the General Assembly. The regional commissions have since then been the main UN economic and social development centres within the five different regions.


Strengthened by 50 years of experience as a regional think-tank, UNESCAP's activities are more and more concentrated on spreading the growth momentum from its more dynamic member countries to the rest of the region. The ultimate challenge lies in bringing the region's 680 million poor into the economic mainstream, enabling everybody to achieve a better standard of life as envisaged in the Charter of the United Nations.

ESCAP Headquarters, Bangkok, Thailand

During the years UNESCAP established the Asian Development Bank (1966), Mekong River Commission (1995) and Asia-Pacific Centre for Agricultural Machineray (2002). Also the Commission assists in modernizing Asian highways and railways under the Asian Land Transport Infrastructure Development Programme and provides technical assistance to pacific island countries through its Pacific Operations Centre based in Suva, Fiji.





The official website of UNESCAP.



Related subjects


ESCAP 40th anniversary


Transport and Communications Decade for Asia and the Pacific



Stamp catalogue - 14th ECAFE Conference, Kuala Lumpur 5-15 March 1958


Federation of Malaya        5 March 1958









Up - Home



last revised: 24 September 2008