Economic Commission for Africa


Emblem of ECAEstablished in 1958, ECA is one of five regional commissions under the administrative direction of United Nations headquarters. As the regional arm of the UN in Africa, it is mandated to support the economic and social development of its 53 member States, foster regional integration, and promote international cooperation for Africa's development. It reports to the UN Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC).


Cover of Perspectives on Africa's DevelopmentThe Commission is organized around six substantive programme divisions: Development Policy and Management; Economic and Social Policy; Gender and Development; Information for Development; Sustainable Development; and Trade and Regional Integration. Five subregional offices contribute a subregional perspective to the work programme and support outreach.


Drawing on this structure, ECA deploys several modalities and services to support its member States: policy analysis and advocacy; enhancing partnerships; technical assistance; communication and knowledge sharing; and supporting subregional activities.


The headquarters of ECA are located in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia.





The official website of ECA.



Related subject


ECA 25th anniversary









Up - Home



last revised: 11 February 2008