ASECNA air planeOn 12 December 1959 in Saint-Louis, Senegal, the Heads of State and Government from the independent states that were formerly part of French West Africa and French Equatorial Africa and Madagascar signed the Convention of the Agence pour la Sécurité de la Navigation Aérienne en Afrique et à Madagascar. Today the Agency has 18 members (17 African countries and France) and is situated in Dakar.


Motif for this creation was to prevent the partition of the air in small territories in a time that airplanes started to go faster, higher and further. For these young countries it was a chance to assure the safety in the air by combining Map of Africa with ASECNA member statesfinances, knowledge and material.


After the africanization of the staff and after implementing a new Convention in 1974, ASECNA is now a model for inter-African cooperation and one of the leading players in the field of African technological development, especially in satellite navigation.


Today the spirit of 1959 is still alive: ASECNA works for the passengers and their optimum safety from the basis of effectiveness, African solidarity and cooperation. Strengthened by experiences from the past, ASECNA thus has all the assets to meet the civil aviation challenges of the 21st century and maintain the quality of the service for air security.


ICAO Edward Warner AwardIn 1973 ASECNA was awarded the ICAO Edward Warner Award for its achievements in civil aviation in Africa.





The official ASECNA website (in French).

Information on the Edward Warner Award from the ICAO website.



Stamp catalogue - ASECNA 20th anniversary


Benin                                  12 December 1979

Niger                                  12 December 1979



Stamp catalogue - ASECNA 25th anniversary


Benin                                  16 September 1985




Up - Home



last revised: 27 February 2010